59 percent of medical students said they had sustained one or more needlestick injuries. Nearly half of them did not report their injury to an employee health office -- Johns Hopkins study, 2009

The Q Stat Safety Syringe can make a difference.

CE certification

ISO 13485 Certified

The 1ml, 3ml, 5ml and 10ml Q Stat retractable safety syringes all have CE certification and meet EU safety, health and environmental requirements.

Blessures par piqûre d’aiguille.

  • « Rien qu’aujourd'hui, plus de 2100 professionnels de santé subiront des blessures par piqûre d’aiguille » [Étude du National Institute Of Occupational Safety & Health, 1999]
  • Il y a eu 57 cas documentés de séroconversion VIH parmi des travailleurs de la santé
  • Le coût du suivi des blessures par piqûre d’aiguille aux États-Unis est d'environ 3000 $ par incident.
  • Le coût des suivis d’accident pour l’industrie de la santé aux États-Unis avoisine 1,2 milliards de dollars par an.
  • Le coût annuel du traitement des maladies contractées aux États-Unis s’élève à 1,8 milliards de dollars.
  • Au total, 3 milliards de dollars sont dépensés tous les ans aux États-Unis pour des blessures par piqûre d’aiguille.
  • Au Royaume-Uni, le nombre des cas recensés de blessure par piqûre d’aiguille a augmenté de 49% de 2002 à 2005 (Article du The Times), et est estimé, aujourd’hui, à plus de 100 000 cas par an.
  • Des milliers de membres du personnel hospitalier en Australie sont victimes de blessures par piqûre d’aiguille tous les ans et cette tendance est en augmentation.

Perspective législative globale

  • Les États-Unis ont déjà mis en place une législation du Département de la Médecine du Travail rendant obligatoire l’utilisation de la technologie d’injection de sécurité.
  • L’armée américaine s’apprête à changer de politique afin d’adopter les technologies de sécurité.
  • L’Espagne a entamé le processus rendant obligatoire l’utilisation de la technologie de sécurité dans un délai de 3 à 5 ans.
  • Une législation européenne est en préparation suite à un mouvement de protestation de la part des travailleurs de la santé inquiets du risque de contraction de pathologies transmises par le sang (Hépatite B, Hépatite C et VIH/Sida) résultant directement d’une blessure par piqûre d’aiguille.
  • Au Royaume-Uni, le Service national de la santé évalue toutes les technologies sécuritaires adéquates. La transition vers l’utilisation d’équipements de sécurité a débuté en 2006.
  • L’Australie et le Canada revoient leurs politiques et sont supposés rendre obligatoire l’utilisation des technologies sécuritaires d’ici 2 ou 3 ans.

Blessure par piqûre d’aiguille

Une blessure par piqûre d’aiguille est une blessure perçante habituellement causée par la pointe d’une aiguille, mais peut aussi être causée par d’autres instruments ou objets tranchants. Ces blessures, souvent souffertes par des personnes manipulant des aiguilles en milieu hospitalier, constituent un risque professionnel au sein de la communauté médicale. Ces évènements inquiètent à cause du risque de contamination par des maladies transmises par le sang, telles que l’hépatite B, l’hépatite C et le virus d’immunodéficience humaine (VIH) qui cause le Sida. Malgré le potentiel de contraction de maladies sérieuses ou mettant en danger la vie du malade, les blessures par piqûre d’aiguille sont négligées – la plupart restent non déclarées et le code CIM-10 n’est pas disponible. Néanmoins, depuis dix ans, les blessures par piqûre d’aiguille sont reconnues comme un risque professionnel et leur prévention fait désormais l'objet de réglementations visant à réduire et éliminer ces cas évitables.

Les blessures par piqûre d’aiguille sont fréquentes en milieu hospitalier. Lors de prises de sang, d’administration de médicaments par voie intramusculaire ou intraveineuse, ou d’autres procédures nécessitant l’utilisation d’objets tranchants, l’aiguille peut glisser et blesser les membres du personnel médical. Ceci prépare le terrain pour une transmission des virus de la personne source au receveur. Ces blessures arrivent aussi lors du rebouchage de l’aiguille et à cause du manquement à l’obligation de se débarrasser des aiguilles utilisées dans des poubelles réservées aux objets tranchants. De façon générale, les blessures par piqûre d’aiguille causent de légers saignements et des blessures peu visibles. Néanmoins, même en l’absence de saignement, le risque d’infection virale persiste. Les blessures par piqûre d’aiguille ne sont pas limitées au monde de la médecine ; tout environnement comportant l'utilisation de seringues (médecine vétérinaire, soins dentaires, recherche biologique, etc.) comporte un risque.

Fréquence

La fréquence de tels cas a été estimée à environ 800 000 rien qu’aux États-Unis (rapport datant de 1999). Une autre enquête estime que ces blessures touchent, au niveau mondial, environ 3,5 millions d'individus. Il est estimé que jusqu’à 50% des cas de blessure par piqûre d’aiguille ne font pas l’objet d’une déclaration étant donné que les travailleurs blessés ne prennent pas le temps de déclarer l'évènement, minimisent le risque ou craignent la stigmatisation et les conséquences professionnelles. Les blessures par piqûre d’aiguille peuvent avoir lieu non seulement avec des objets tranchants récemment contaminés, mais aussi, après un certain temps, avec des aiguilles creuses contenant du sang séché. Tandis que le degré de contagion du VIH ou du VHC baisse au-delà de deux ou trois heures, le VHB est stable pendant le dessiccation et reste contagieux pendant plus d’une semaine. Les blessures par piqûre d’aiguille concernent aussi, de manière significative, les travailleurs de la police. A San Diego, 30% de ces travailleurs ont déclaré avoir reçu ce genre de blessures typiquement lors des fouilles corporelles des suspects.

Risque

Les blessures par piqûre d’aiguille ont le potentiel de transmettre diverses bactéries, protozoaires, virus et prions mais, d’un point de vue pratique, le risque de transmission des virus de l’hépatite B et C et de celui de l’immunodéficience humaine (VIH) est le plus significatif. Il est estimé que 66 000 infections par le VHB, 16 000 infections par le VHC et 1000 infections par le VIH ont lieu tous les ans au niveau mondial. De plus, une telle blessure peut causer beaucoup de stress et d’anxiété à la personne blessée. Soigner une blessure par piqûre d’aiguille est coûteux, avoisinant les 3000 dollars sur le court-terme aux États-Unis.

Selon les estimations, une seule blessure par piqûre d’aiguille représente un risque de 300 infections par le VHB (30% de risque), 30 infections par le VHC (3% de risque) et 3 infections par le VIH (0.3% de risque) pour 1000 cas d’exposition à chacun d’eux.

Tandis que la majorité des blessures par piqûre d’aiguille a lieu quand la personne source n’est pas porteuse ni du VHB, ni du VHC, ni du VIH, et ne comporte donc pas de risque d'infection, ces cas génèrent, néanmoins, beaucoup de stress et d’anxiété. Ils marquent aussi un échec au niveau des protocoles et de la prévention.

Prévention

Les mesures préventives peuvent être prises à plusieurs niveaux et peuvent inclure la réduction ou l’élimination de l’utilisation d’objets tranchants autant que possible, les systèmes de sécurité intégrée (par ex : des aiguilles de sécurité), des contrôles administratifs y compris les formations et la fourniture de ressources adéquates, ainsi que les contrôles des pratiques opérationnelles ; ces dernières peuvent inclure l’utilisation d’instruments (et non des doigts) pour attraper les aiguilles, monter des scalpels et éviter le passage d’instruments tranchants d’une main à l’autre. Les progrès réalisés dans le domaine de l’ingénierie incluent la conception de seringues de sécurité et de démonteurs d’aiguilles. Le risque de blessure est réduit d’une manière considérable grâce au respect des protocoles « sans contact » qui éliminent tout contact direct avec les aiguilles lors de leur utilisation et leur élimination.

Certains pays ont adopté des législations visant à protéger les professionnels de la santé. Aux États-Unis, la Needlestick Safety Act et la Bloodborne Pathogens Standard furent signées en 2000 et 2001, respectivement. Ces règlements rendent obligatoire l’utilisation de systèmes de sécurité pour la manipulation d’objets tranchants ou d’aiguilles.

Liens externes

Éviter les blessures par piqûre d’aiguille en médecine,, Institut national de sécurité et de santé professionnelles (NIOSH)

Ce que tout travailleur doit savoir : Comment se protéger des blessures par piqûre d’aiguille, Institut national de sécurité et de santé professionnelles (NIOSH)

NIOSH, page dédiée aux infections transmises par le sang

Centre international pour la sécurité des travailleurs de la santé, Université de Virginie.

Never re-cap a used needle.

The Q STAT Safety Syringe can make a difference.

CE certification

ISO 13485 Certified

The 1ml, 3ml, 5ml and 10ml Q STAT retractable safety syringes all have CE certification and meet EU safety, health and environmental requirements.

Needlestick Injury Information

  • "Today alone over 2,100 health care professionals will incur a needlestick related injury." [NIOSH Study, 1999]
  • There have been 57 documented cases of HIV seroconversion among healthcare personnel through 2001.
  • The cost of needlestick injury follow-up in the U.S. per incident is around $3,000.
  • Accident follow ups cost the US medical industry $1.2 billion annually.
  • Annual treatment for contracted diseases in the US is $1.8 billion.
  • A total of $3 billion is spent annually in the US on needlestick injuries.
  • In the United Kingdom the number of reported needlestick injuries has risen 49% from 2002 to 2005 (Article – The Times), presently estimated at more than 100,000 per year.
  • Thousands of Australian hospital workers suffer needlestick injuries each year and the incidence is increasing.

Global Legislative Outlook

  • The United States already has OSHA legislation in place requiring the use of safety injection technology.
  • US military planning a policy shift to safety technology.
  • Spain has begun mandating use of safety technology with a 3-5 year implementation period.
  • EU Legislation is pending due to a ground swell of protest from healthcare workers who are concerned about the risk of suffering bloodborne pathogen induced illnesses (eg: Hepatitis B, Hepatitis C and HIV / AIDS) as a direct result of needlestick injury.
  • In the UK, the NHS is assessing all suitable safety technology. The transition to safety devices began in 2006.
  • Australia and Canada are reviewing policies and are expected to mandate safety technology in the next two-three years.

Needlestick Injuries

A needlestick injury is a percutaneous piercing wound typically caused by a needle point, but possibly also by other sharp instruments or objects. Commonly sustained by people handling needles in the medical setting, such injuries are an occupational hazard in the medical community. These events are of concern because of the risk of transmitting blood-borne diseases such as hepatitis B virus (HBV), the hepatitis C virus (HCV), and the Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV), the virus which causes AIDS. Despite the potential for serious or life-threatening illness, needlestick injuries have been neglected - most go unreported and ICD-10 coding is not available. However, in the last decade as needlesticks have been recognized as an occupational hazard their prevention has become the subject of regulations in an effort to reduce and eliminate this preventable event.

Needlestick injuries are a common event in the healthcare environment. When drawing blood, administering an intramuscular or intravenous drug, or performing other procedures involving sharps, the needle can slip and injure the healthcare worker. This sets the stage to transmit viruses from the source person to the recipient. These injuries also commonly occur during needle recapping and as a result of failure to place used needles in approved sharps containers. Generally needlestick injuries cause only minor bleeding or visible trauma, however, even in the absence of bleeding the risk of viral infection remains. Needlestick injuries are not limited to the medical community. Any environment where syringes are encountered (eg: veterinary medicine, dentistry and biological research) carries a risk.

Frequency

The frequency of such events has been estimated to be about 800,000 cases in the USA alone (1999 report). Another investigation estimates the rates of injuries on a global level to affect about 3.5 million individuals. It is estimated that as much as 50% of needlestick events may go unreported as injured healthcare workers may not take the time to report, downplay the risk, or fear stigmatization and professional consequences. Needlestick injuries may occur not only with freshly contaminated sharps, but also, after some time, with needles that carry dry blood. While the infectiousness of HIV and HCV decrease within a couple of hours, HBV remains stable during desiccation and infectious for more than a week. Needlestick injuries are of significant concern to police workers. In San Diego 30% of police workers reported such injuries typically when searching suspects.

Risk

While needlestick injuries have the potential of transferring bacteria, protozoa, viruses and prions, from a practical point the risk of transmission of the hepatitis B and hepatitis C viruses and the Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) is the most significant. It is estimated that annually as a consequence there are 66,000 infections with HBV, 16,000 with HCV, and 1,000 with HIV worldwide. In addition, a needlestick injury may lead to significant stress and anxiety for the injured person. Taking care of a needlestick injury is costly, estimated to be about $US 3,000 in the short term in the US.

Estimates of the risk of a single injury indicate a risk of 300 HBV infections (30% risk), 30 HCV infection (3% risk) and 3 HIV infections (0.3% risk) per 1,000 respective exposures.

While the vast majority of needlestick injuries occur when the source-person does not carry the HBV, HCV, and HIV and thus do not carry a risk of infection, these events nevertheless cause stress and anxiety and signal a breakdown in protocol and prevention.

Prevention

Preventive steps can be taken at several levels and include reduction or elimination of use of sharps as much as possible, engineering controls (i.e. needles with safety devices), administrative controls including training and provision of adequate resources, and work practice controls; the latter may include using instruments (not fingers) to grasp needles, load scalpels, and avoiding hand-to-hand passing of sharp instruments. Engineering advances include the development of safety syringes and needle removers. The adherence to "no-touch" protocols that eliminate direct contact with needles in their use and disposal greatly reduce the risk of injury.

Some countries have enacted legislation to protect healthcare workers. In the US, the Needlestick Safety Act was signed in 2000 and Bloodborne Pathogens Standard in 2001. These regulations mandate the use of safety devices with any sharps or needles.

External Links

Preventing Needlestick Injuries in Health Care Settings National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.

What Every Worker Should Know: How to Protect Yourself From Needlestick Injuries National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.

Bloodborne Infectious Diseases Topic Page

International Healthcare Worker Safety Center University of Virginia.